Miranda Camera Company

I am so excited about this! I was on Etsy searching with “camera” as the key word and pages and pages came up. As I begin to quickly scan the pages there was one caught my eye right away! It was a print of camera that had my name on it! I was so intrigued I began to Google “Miranda camera” to see what would come up. To my surprise there were instantly tons of search results.

Here is a little bit of what I found-

It turns out that the Orion Camera Company located in Japan became the Miranda Camera Company right after World War II. In the late 50’s and 60’s they were a considered to be a good quality, high-end camera, and also one of Nikon’s biggest competitors. They were most famous for their interchangeable view finder. The lenses were considered sturdy, good quality and reasonably priced.

Things started going down hill for the company after they sold to AIG and they couldn’t keep up with competitors like Canon and Nikon. The other companies could product more product in a much faster amount of time than they could. Sadly, they stopped production in 1978.

So as you probably gathered…I just HAD to have this camera! The heck with the print I saw on Etsy! I wanted a print of my own Miranda camera! So I turned to another one of favorite websites – Ebay! And there were about a dozen search results. I found the camera I wanted in working order. Honestly, I had no idea how to use a film 35mm camera but now I am determined to learn. I also found out that a lot of photography students still use this camera for some of their classes. I think it says a lot about the Miranda Camera Co that most of their cameras are all still in working order in 2011.

On a side note…you see the book in the picture? Expressive Photography by the Shutter Sisters. I am a HUGE fan of the Shutter Sisters and I highly recommend this book. You can expect a post about the fabulous Shutter Sisters soon! : ) Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

