Aperture

Too many buttons! I’m very excited and extremely nervous about taking my camera off of AUTOMATIC. It’s just so easy to turn on the camera and shoot with it on automatic that I haven’t tried any manual shooting yet. When I first bought my camera I looked at it like it was from another planet. There were buttons on the top, buttons on the side, buttons everywhere! What did they do? Did I really need all of them? I felt like a macho man trying to put together a swing set without instructions “Oh there must be some extra parts”.

Well it’s time for a change! First I’m going to focus on working with Aperture. When I met with Andrea she suggested that this would be a good way for me to start to get comfortable with manual settings. She understood me when I said that I need to tackle one thing at a time or I get very over whelmed because she is fully self-taught and knows what it’s like to start from scratch – another reason why I admire her so much! She gives me hope!

I will probably have the camera manual open the whole time, but you have to start somewhere.

Here is the definition of aperture from the Webopedia. I am referring to the Webopedia because I like to just read the facts sometimes. I can read for hours on people’s opinions and directions in articles or blog posts (which I do enjoy!) but sometimes I just want the facts.

Aperture- A device that controls the amount of light admitted through an opening. In photography and digital photography, aperture is the unit of measurement that defines the size of the opening in the lens that can be adjusted to control the amount of light reaching the film or digital sensor. The size of the aperture is measured in F-stop. So after reading this definition you probably going okay, what is an F-stop?

Let me just follow-up on that (again referring to the Webopedia) F-stop is the lens focal length divided by the effective aperture diameter. The smaller the F-stop, the greater amount of light that will be let in and pass through the lens. Each change of F-stop halves or doubles the image brightness as you step up or down. Stay tuned to see my first attempts!

One Comment to “Aperture”

  1. Once you learn the other modes, you will not go back to the auto mode.

    Raven

Leave a Reply

